Webinar on shelter access for LGBTQ survivors

Thursday, March 27th

The National Coalition of Anti-Violence Programs’ (NCAVP) National Training and Technical Assistance Center invites you to our series of webinars on supporting lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) survivors of violence.

LGBTQ survivors, particularly gay men and transgender survivors, face many challenges in accessing safe shelter when fleeing from abuse.  Many domestic violence programs were not designed to shelter LGBTQ survivors, so there is a lack of accessible housing options for these survivors across the country.  However, there are LGBTQ-inclusive domestic violence shelters and housing programs which have transformed to shelter LGBTQ survivors.  This webinar will highlight a successful model of an LGBTQ-inclusive shelter program and describe the process the program went through to begin housing LGBTQ survivors.  Upon completing this webinar, participants will be able to confront common fears and beliefs which prevent programs from housing LGBTQ survivors, identify and implement concrete strategies to transform their shelter programs to include LGBTQ survivors, and assess their program’s current feasibility to house LGBTQ survivors.

Join presenters Susan Chorley, Executive Director at Renewal House, and Chai Jindasurat, Co-Director of Community Organizing and Public Advocacy at the New York City Anti-Violence Project, for Shelter Access for LGBTQ Survivors.

Thursday, March 27th, 2014

2pm-3pm EST, 1pm-2pm CST, 12pm-1pm MST, 11am-12pm PST


Register early as space is limited.

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the Webinar.